top of page

Laminating Timbers

Denman Marine supplied the material for the keel timbers and mast supports. The oak was supplied in 10mm strips which I laminated with epoxy thickened with gluing powder.

Lamination setup in clamps

Keel timber in clamps

Epoxy measured by weight, this is OK for West System but some epoxy needs to be measured by volume.

Laminated and thicknessed (using a cheap Aldi thicknesser and a hand plane) keel timber, I purchased CNC templates with the boat kit to help with shaping the ends of the keel timbers

Keel timber that is integrated into frame D1’ shaped with some help from Chisel and Dowel wood school who let me use their bandsaw.


I have now laminated all of the keel timbers and mast supports using the same process. I won’t fill the blog with a eight step by step post about building these.

コメント


bottom of page